Officers, Chairpersons and Trustees


The Society of Asphalt Technologists of New Jersey is a non-profit organization consisting of individuals from the asphalt industry including Producers, Users, Owners, Consultants, Engineers, Educators, Equipment Manufacturers, Distributors and Suppliers.

We are dedicated to gathering and disseminating information on quality asphalt technology intended to improve the design, construction and maintenance of asphalt pavements; and to search for ways and means to reduce the life cycle cost of asphalt pavements.

They are required on many NJDOT projects. Below is a copy of the text from the NJDOT Specifications Guide. Having your NJSAT Certification and maintaining the important training standards is essential.

 902.02.04 (C) Sampling and Testing

C. Quality Control Testing. The HMA producer shall provide a quality control (QC) technician who is certified by the Society of Asphalt Technologists of New Jersey as an Asphalt Technologist, Level 2. The QC technician may substitute equivalent technician certification by the Mid-Atlantic Region Technician Certification Program (MARTCP). Ensure that the QC technician is present during periods of mix production for the sole purpose of quality control testing and to assist the ME. The ME will not perform the quality control testing or other routine test functions in the absence of, or instead of, the QC technician.

401.03.03 (A).1 HMA Courses Paving Plan. At least 20 days before beginning placing the HMA surface course, submit a detailed plan of operation to the RE for approval that includes the following:

Asphalt paving construction technologist (APCT), certified by the Society of Asphalt Technologists of New Jersey, Inc. The Department will accept the equivalent certification by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Technician Certification Program.





President Robert Sauber
Vice President Darius Pezeshki
Treasurer Carlos Meneses
Secretary Mark Kaufman


Attorney to the Board

Mark Fleder Esquire


Committee Chairpersons

Membership Phil Cheney
Scholarship Joseph Sheedy
Program Dan DeStefano
Certification Board Robert Fischer
Website and Database John Varrone
Golf Outing John Varrone



Joseph R. Abbott

Martin A. Ackley

Timothy Ackley

Tom Bennert

Russ Berger

Wayne Byard

* Phil Cheney (2004-2006) *

* Dan DeStefano (2016-2018) *

Brian Felber

* Rob Fischer (2008-2010) *

* Rich Gribbin (2000-2002) *

Lee Knecht

* Scott Laudone (2012-2014) *

Kevin Monaco

* John Nakonechy (2020-2022) *

*Nick Pantina P.E. (2014-2016)*

Carl Pitale

Joseph Sheedy

* Eileen Sheehy (1998-2000) *

  Kaz Tabrizi

 Brian N. Tobin

* Cathi Toro (1994-1996) *

Robert VanNote

* John Varrone (1996-1998) *

Andrew Wildstein

* Chris Williams (2018-2020) *





* Past President * 



Emeritus Trustees

Frank Fee Alan Frassinelli *Frank DelGuercio (2002-2004)* 
Dan Nero *Tom "TJ" Johnson (2010-2012)* Rich Linton
* Joe Marsano (2006-2008) * Mike Snure Bob Vail 
  * Past President *  


Posthumous Trustees

Orville Abbott * William Abbott (1986-1988) * Joe Devine
Cliff Heath * Cap LiVecchi (1984-1986) * * Mike Manno (1988-1990) *
* Bruce Noel (1990-1992) * Lee Parisi * Orrin Riley (1992-1994) *
Joe Smith    
  * Past President *